Whose Woods These Are

German Word of the Day:


Schneefall

n., snowfall


Regular programming on this site has been interrupted to report the first snowfall of winter in Niedersachsen, Germany!  The day of the first snow is probably my very favorite day of the year.  Seriously, I think even Christmas morning comes in second.  So when I woke up one day this week to see my little town glistening under several inches of snow, I was *slightly* ecstatic.  They didn’t cancel school, but I still found the time to make two snowmen and a snow angel and throw three snowballs before 9 AM.  Unfortunately, the snow proceeded to melt.  It does that sometimes.  I’m hopeful we’ll get more – but in the meantime I’ll share some pictures of my first-ever Teutonic snowfall.

It's much more fun to wait for the train to school when you can pass the time by kicking ice off the platform.
It’s much more fun to wait for the train to school when you can pass the time by kicking ice off the platform.
Passing snow-covered fields on the way to school.
Passing snow-covered fields on the way to school.
img_2534
How to Make Friends – gather snow into a pile, add eyeballs and a mouth. Friend made.
img_2599
Finally had to pull out my boots for this hike in the snow. Boots make everything better. So do bucolic snow-filled pastures.
One of the best parts of cold weather is coming back inside, don't you agree?
Being out in the snow is great, and in some way, isn’t it even better to come back inside?
6 thoughts on “Whose Woods These Are

  1. I enjoyed your pictures, but glad the snow is in Germany. It was 65 degrees today so no snow for the next 2 days. I didn’t know you had to take a train to school. That is something you may never have to do in the USA. Enjoy! We will miss you on Thanksgiving day, but hope be in contact via Skype. Continue to enjoy your experience. Love grandma and also grandpa.

    Like

Leave a Reply

